Back to All Events

We May Never Dance Again® // the feath3r theory

Photo by Kate Enman

Photo by Kate Enman

We May Never Dance Again® is a series of mini-melodramas about the denial of death and the birth of the end of the world. Told through Raja Feather Kelly and the feath3r theory's signature and surreal style of dance-theatre, an unabashed un-recycling of popular culture, We May Never Dance Again® simmers with gritty physicality and sincere storytelling as it moves through the provocative, political, and deeply personal, presenting a dance society that is shockingly isolated and yet surprisingly familiar. Performed live to a score composed by Raja Feather Kelly and Zain Alam (Humeysha) that includes Frank Sinatra, Jamiroquai, Micheal Bublé, Donna Summer, Lady Gaga, and Whitney Houston as the white noise that both soothes and drives you mad.

Ensemble will include Amy Gernux, Alexandria Giroux, Sara Gurevich, John Gutierrez, Rebecca Hite, Kalin Imar, Rachel Pritzlaff, Collin Ranf, Aaron Moses Robin, Coel Rodriguez, Candace Taylor, and Benjamin Wolk. 

Technical collaborators include lighting designer Tuce Yasak, sound designer Emily Auciello, video editor Laura Snow, and photographer Kate Enman.

Visual design and direction by Raja Feather Kelly, with choreography and performance by the feath3r theory.

the feath3r theory Presents Our 3rd Annual
Mo' Money Mo' Problems, 24 hour, $15,000 Tele-Gala-Dance-A-Thon

In conjunction with our World Premiere We May Never Dance Again®, the feath3r theory will host our annual Gala, that is obviously a fundraiser, in the manner of a telethon, but is also a birthday party, and a food fest, and this year we’re going to dance all night long. We will have performances, sponsored drinks, food, dancing- duh, prizes, and special guest and special surprises that we wouldn’t dare to mention unless you there.. So.. I suggest showing up!  

Raja Feather Kelly is a choreographer, director, and the artistic director of the feath3r theory and New Brooklyn Theatre. A two-time winner of the Princess Grace Award, Raja is the 2019-2020 Randjelovic/Stryker Resident Commissioned Artist at New York Live Arts and an inaugural Jerome Hill Artist Fellow. He is a current fellow of HERE Arts and the Center for Ballet and the Arts at NYU. Over the past decade, Kelly has created thirteen evening-length premieres and six short-format works as well as choreographing extensively for Off-Broadway theatre in New York City. His choreography has garnered a Breakout Award from the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (2018), Dance Magazine's inaugural Harkness Promise Award (2018), and the Solange MacArthur Award for New Choreography (2016). He was born in Fort Hood, Texas and holds a B.A. in Dance and English from Connecticut College.

Instagram: @raja_the_feath3r_theory_
Facebook: @thefeath3rs

Dates + Times
Thursday, June 6, 7:30pm (SOLD OUT)
Friday, June 7, 8pm

Thursday ticket — CLICK HERE
Friday ticket — CLICK HERE

Tickets for Friday’s show of We May Never Dance Again® include an entrance donation to the Mo' Money Mo' Problems, 24 hour, $15,000 Tele-Gala-Dance-A-Thon, an open bar, snacks, activities, and dancing

The Main Gallery
51 Bergen St.