History + Mission
The Invisible Dog Art Center is housed in a three-story former factory building in Boerum Hill, Brooklyn. Built in 1863, our 30,000 square foot facility has been the site of various industrial endeavors, most notably a belt factory that manufactured the famous Walt Disney invisible dog party trick, after which our center is named. The building remained dormant from the mid 1990s until 2009, when our founder Lucien Zayan opened The Invisible Dog.
The Invisible Dog is dedicated to the integration of innovation in the arts with profound respect for the past. In 2009, the building was restored for safety reasons, but special attention was given to the preservation of its original 1863 form. The rawness of the space is vital to our identity.
The ground floor is used for exhibitions, performances and public events featuring visual artists, performers and curators from around the world. This floor also includes our pop-up shop, a home for independent, commercial designers in various fields.
The second and third floors are divided into over 30 artists' studios and are integral to the vast creative community of the Invisible Dog.
Finally, the Glass House, designed by resident artist, Anne Mourier, is a seasonal exhibition space dedicated to art installations of all kinds. The unique gallery provides even more opportunities for experimentation to the artists in our ever-growing community. Our mission is to provide for that community while honoring collaboration, accessibility, and dedication to the field.
Here, art and architecture feed off each other organically. The artists who walk through our doors infuse our space with their creative energy and make The Invisible Dog Art Center a unique home for the arts.